Dec 04, 2022  
2022-2023 Academic Catalog 
    
2022-2023 Academic Catalog

Academic Calendar


Fall Semester 2022

First Day Faculty Report Monday, August 15
New Faculty Orientation Tuesday, August 16
Faculty/Staff Workshop Thursday, August 18
New Students Arrive and Check-in Saturday, August 20
New Student Welcome Weekend Saturday-Monday, August 20-22
Continuing Students Arrive Sunday, August 21
Continuing Students Check-in Monday, August 22
Students Meet with Advisor Monday, August 22
Classes Begin Tuesday, August 23, 8:00 a.m.
Last Day to Add Classes Tuesday, August 30, 5:00 p.m.
Classes Meet on Labor Day Monday, September 5
Last Day to Drop Classes without a Record Tuesday, September 13, 5:00 p.m.
Taylor Religious Heritage Lecture Monday, September 19, 11:00 a.m.
Taylor Religious Heritage Lecture Wednesday, September 21, 11:00 a.m.
Fall Break Begins Wednesday, October 5, 5:00 p.m.
Classes Resume Monday, October 10, 8:00 a.m.
First-Half Semester Classes End Friday, October 14
Homecoming Saturday, October 15
Second-Half Semester Classes Begin Monday, October 17, 8:00 a.m.
Final Grades for Half-semester Classes Due Monday, October 17, 4:00 p.m.
Students Meet with Advisors (No Classes) Tuesday, October 18
Pre-registration for Spring Semester Begins Monday, October 24, 8:30 a.m.
Last Day to Drop Classes with a W Tuesday, October 25, 5:00 p.m.
Thanksgiving Holiday Begins Tuesday, November 22, 5:00 p.m.
Classes Resume Monday, November 28, 8:00 a.m.
Classes End Tuesday, December 6
Reading Day Wednesday, December 7
Final Examination Period Thursday-Monday, December 8-12
Final Grades Due Wednesday, December 14, 12 noon

Spring Semester 2023

New and Continuing Students Arrive Sunday, January 8
New Student Welcome Weekend Sunday-Monday, January 8-9
Students Check-in Monday, January 9
Students Meet with Advisor Monday, January 9
Classes Begin Tuesday, January 10, 8:00 a.m.
Martin Luther King Jr. Day (No Classes) Monday, January 16
Last Day to Add Classes Tuesday, January 17, 5:00 p.m.
Last Day to Drop Classes without a Record Tuesday, January 31, 5:00 p.m.
Rouson Memorial Lecture Wednesday, February 1, 11:00 a.m.
First-Half Semester Classes End Friday, March 3
Spring Break Begins Friday, March 3, 5:00 p.m.
Classes Resume Monday, March 13, 8:00 a.m.
Second-Half Semester Classes Begin Monday, March 13, 8:00 a.m.
Final Grades for Half-semester Classes Due Monday, March 13, 4:00 p.m.
Passport to Fall (No Classes) Tuesday, March 21
Last Day to Drop Classes with a Record Tuesday, March 21, 5:00 p.m.
Pre-registration for Fall Semester Begins Monday, March 27, 8:30 a.m.
Pre-registration for Summer Session Begins Monday, April 3, 8:30 a.m.
Twenty-ninth Annual Mary Frances Hobson Lecture Monday, April 3, 7:30 p.m.
Easter Holiday Begins Thursday, April 6, 5:00 p.m.
Classes Resume Tuesday, April 11, 8:00 a.m.
Nineteenth Annual Chowan Academic Forum Tuesday-Saturday, April 11-22
Eighteenth Annual Faculty Interdisciplinary Symposium Monday, April 17
Twenty-fifth Annual Student Research Conference Tuesday, April 18
Awards Day Convocation Wednesday, April 19, 11:00 a.m.
Follow MWF Class Schedule Thursday, April 27
Classes End Friday, April 28
Reading Day Saturday, April 29
Final Examination Period Monday-Thursday, May 1-4
Final Grades for Degree Candidates Due Thursday, May 4, 12 noon 
Commencement Saturday, May 6, 10:00 a.m.
Final Grades for Non-graduating Students Due Monday, May 8, 12 noon
Last Day Faculty Report Friday, May 12

Summer Session 2023

Summer Session Classes Begins Monday, May 15, 8:00 a.m.
Last Day to Add Classes Friday, May 19, 5:00 p.m.
Last Day to Drop Classes without a Record Friday, May 26, 5:00 p.m.
Memorial Day (No Classes) Monday, May 29
Last Day to Drop Classes with a Record Friday, June 9, 5:00 p.m.
Juneteenth (No Classes) Monday, June 19
Independence Day (No Classes) Tuesday, July 4
Summer Session Classes End Thursday, July 6
Final Examination Period Friday, July 7
Final Grades Due Tuesday, July 11, 12 noon